Spencer Johnson Joins Australia’s T20I Squad Against New Zealand


With Marcus Stoinis and Aaron Hardie sidelined due to injuries, Australia had to shuffle their lineup for the upcoming T20I clashes against New Zealand. In a last-minute addition, fast bowler Spencer Johnson has been drafted into the squad just ahead of the opening match slated for Wednesday. Despite logistical hurdles delaying Adam Zampa’s arrival in New Zealand, he’s expected to be ready for the series, while Matthew Wade will link up with the team in Auckland for the subsequent games.

Stoinis sustained a back injury during the recent T20I series against the West Indies, while Hardie’s calf issue prevented his contention for a spot in the 2017 T20 World Cup roster.

The Chappell-Hadlee Trophy commemorates cricketing legends from both Australia and New Zealand, underscoring the rich cricketing heritage shared by these nations.

The upcoming series, coinciding with the T20 World Cup in June, holds immense significance, with both teams vying for victory in both white-ball formats.

Former New Zealand cricket icon Sir Richard Hadlee lauded the adjustments, noting their potential to elevate the series’ profile and maintain its relevance over successive 20-over and 50-over contests.

The revised squad list includes:

Australia T20 squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, and Adam Zampa.

New Zealand T20 Squad: Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Will Young.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *