Punjab Chief Secretary Joins PCB Board of Governors


In a notable move ahead of the upcoming elected prime minister’s tenure in March, Punjab Chief Secretary Zahid Akhtar Zaman has been appointed to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Board of Governors, along with six other government officials. Outgoing Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar has made significant decisions, reshaping the composition of the PCB leadership.

Initially, Mohsin Naqvi was nominated by Anwaar for the PCB chief position while serving as caretaker chief minister of Punjab. Subsequently, Naqvi assumed the role of PCB chief on February 6.

Moreover, Anwaar expanded his nominees on the PCB Board of Governors from two to three. Alongside Mohsin Naqvi, Mustafa Ramday, previously nominated by then-Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif, and Zaka Ashraf, were retained. The inclusion of Zahid Akhtar Zaman marks an increase in the government’s representation within the PCB.

A PCB official, speaking anonymously to a local media outlet, confirmed the issuance of orders regarding the government officials’ appointments but noted that their specific roles within the PCB are yet to be determined.

At present, the PCB chairman is on leave, traveling abroad with his family. Upon his return, decisions regarding the roles of these government officials will be finalized,” the PCB official stated.

It’s worth highlighting that the Establishment Division has instructed government officials, including Sohail Ashraf, Zain Asim, Abdullah Khurram Niazi, Irtiza Komail, and Rafiullah, to join the PCB.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *