PSL 2022: Pakistan Super League releases the list of retained players for its 7th edition



The seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) will kick start from January 27, 2022. The first 15 games of the tournament will be played in Karachi, while the remaining matches will take place in Lahore.

In this year’s edition, Mohammad Rizwan led Multan Sultans to their maiden PSL title with a thumping win over Peshawar Zalmi at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi.

Ahead of the auction, four teams – Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi – have utilised their full quota of eight retentions. On the other hand, Multan Sultans and Quetta Gladiators have retained seven players apiece as the retention, trade and release window for PSL 2022 closed on Friday.


For the first time in the PSL history, right-to-match (RTM) cards have been introduced, allowing each franchise to buy back a maximum of one player at the draft, which will be held on December 12.

List of player retentions for PSL 2022:

Asif Ali, Hasan Ali (both Platinum), Faheem Ashraf (Diamond), Shadab Khan (Diamond, Brand Ambassador), Alex Hales (Gold, Mentor), Azam Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr (both Gold), Paul Stirling (Silver).

Babar Azam, Imad Wasim (both Platinum), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nabi (both Diamond), Joe Clarke (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan (both Gold), Mohammad Ilyas (Silver).


Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi (both Platinum), Haris Rauf (Diamond, Brand Ambassador), David Wiese, Mohammad Hafeez (both Diamond), Ahmed Daniyal, Sohail Akhtar, Zeeshan Ashraf (all Silver).

Liam Livingstone, Wahab Riaz (both Platinum), Haider Ali, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik (all Diamond), Hussain Talat (Gold), Saqib Mahmood (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Silver).

Mohammad Rizwan, Rilee Rossouw (both Platinum), Imran Tahir (Diamond, Mentor), Sohaib Maqsood (Diamond), Khushdil Shah (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood (both Gold).


James Vince, Sarfaraz Ahmed (both Platinum), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz (both Diamond), Shahid Afridi (Gold, Mentor), Mohammad Hasnain (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Naseem Shah (Gold).