LPL 2024 Scheduled for Action: July 1st to July 31st


The Lanka Premier League’s fifth edition is set to take place from July 1 to July 31, as announced by the SLC. This scheduling puts it in direct competition with Major League Cricket and The Hundred.

Major League Cricket’s second season kicks off on July 4, with the final anticipated on July 28. Meanwhile, The Hundred is scheduled to run from July 23 to August 18. A similar overlap occurred last year, affecting foreign player participation due to competing financial incentives. In spite of this, local fans continue to find the LPL appealing.

The 2024 season will maintain its format with five teams and 24 matches. There are 20 games in the league stage, with every side playing every other team twice. The playoffs include a qualifier, an eliminator, a second eliminator, and the final, mirroring the IPL structure. As has happened the last three seasons, four of the five teams will make the playoffs.

Franchise ownership turnover has been significant in the LPL, with last year’s owners differing from those in the inaugural 2020 edition.

The Jaffna-based teams, Stallions in the first season and Kings in the subsequent two seasons, all led by Thisara Perera, won the first three editions. In 2023, B-Love Kandy, captained by Wanindu Hasaranga (except in the final when he was injured), emerged victorious.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *