Kieron Pollard ruled out of Pakistan tour due to hamstring injury; replacements announced


West Indies limited-overs captain Kieron Pollard will not travel to Pakistan for the upcoming T20I and ODI series that starts December 13. Pollard has been ruled out of the white-ball tour after failing to recover from a hamstring injury that he picked up during the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2021.

In Pollard’s absence, explosive batter Nicholas Pooran will lead the T20I team, while Shai Hope will be the ODI captain. When it comes to replacements, all-rounder Rovman Powell will come in place of Pollard for the T20Is, and wicketkeeper-batter Devon Thomas will replace the Trinidadian for the ODIs.

Cricket West Indies (CWI), in a statement, said that Pollard will undergo rehabilitation work in Trinidad and will be reconsidered ahead of the upcoming home tours against Ireland and England in January 2022.


“The Cricket West Indies (CWI) Selection Panel has named the experienced Devon Thomas as the replacement in the One-Day International (ODI) squad while all-rounder Rovman Powell is the replacement in the T20 International (T20I) squad,” said CWI in an official statement.

“Pollard will undergo rehabilitation work in Trinidad, under the supervision of CWI’s Chief Medical Officer, Dr Israel Dowlat, and will be reassessed in a few weeks ahead of the upcoming home tours against Ireland and England in January 2022. With Pollard ruled out, Nicholas Pooran will lead the team in the T20Is. Shai Hope will Captain the team in the ODIs for the first time,” the statement added.

Here are the updated squads:

T20I: Nicholas Pooran (c), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Rovman Powell.


ODI: Shai Hope (c), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr, Devon Thomas.