IPL 2022 – MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah retained by IPL franchises


Narine, Russell, Williamson and Maxwell are also among the big names who won’t be going into the auction

MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Glenn Maxwell are among some of the big names that the existing franchises have decided to retain for IPL 2022.

Following is a list of names that ESPNcricinfo has confirmed as of Monday evening. The order they appear in is not as per IPL retention list.

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali.
Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell
Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje
Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson

Several franchises are still finalising their retention list with the IPL deadline closing at 12pm IST on Tuesday. Recently the IPL, which will be a 10-team league from the 2022 season, had enhanced the auction purse to INR 90 crore while setting various retention slabs. The existing franchises can retain a maximum of four players while the two new unnamed franchise – to be based in Lucknow and Ahmedabad – can buy upto three players each from the pool after the original eight teams have made their retentions.

In case a franchise retains four players, INR 42 crore would be deducted from the total purse. For three retentions the purse would shrink by INR 33 crore, while for two retentions it would reduce by INR 24 crore and in case of one retention INR 14 crore would be deducted from the purse.

More to follow

Additional reporting by Shashank Kishore

Nagraj Gollapudi is news editor at ESPNcricinfo