Indian Cricketers Shine in ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2023


In a spectacular display of prowess, six standout Indian cricketers have clinched their spots in the prestigious ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year for 2023.

Taking the helm as captain was the prolific Rohit Sharma, who continued his exceptional run in ODI cricket throughout 2023, accumulating an impressive 1255 runs at an average of 52. Sharma’s standout performance came at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, where his brilliant knock of 131 against Afghanistan in Delhi left a lasting impression.

Joining Sharma was the dynamic Shubman Gill, who secured his position as Sharma’s preferred opening partner with a stellar 208 against New Zealand in Hyderabad. Gill topped the charts with 1584 runs in 2023, showcasing his prowess at the top of India’s batting order.

Travis Head, the Australian maestro, showcased his class on the grand stage, particularly during the 50-over World Cup in India. Head’s Player of the Match performance in the semi-final victory over South Africa and a stunning 137 against India in the final contributed significantly to Australia’s sixth title win.

Virat Kohli, the stalwart of Indian cricket, had yet another consistent year in 2023, amassing 1377 runs. Kohli’s six centuries during India’s World Cup campaign, breaking Sachin Tendulkar’s record, earned him the Player of the Tournament award.

Daryl Mitchell of New Zealand stood out with an impressive tally of five centuries, amassing 1204 runs at an imposing average and an eye-catching strike rate. Mitchell’s stellar performances, especially against India in the World Cup, solidified his place in the team.

Behind the stumps, South Africa’s experienced Heinrich Klaasen showcased his batting prowess, scoring a memorable 174 against Australia. Klaasen’s sound performances, both with the bat and behind the stumps, earned him the wicketkeeper-batter position.

The all-rounder’s spot went to the tall South African, Marco Jansen, who displayed excellence with both bat and ball, including a five-wicket haul against Australia and a noteworthy contribution to South Africa’s World Cup semi-final run.

The Australian veteran, Adam Zampa, maintained his consistency with 38 wickets at an impressive average and economy rate. Zampa’s standout performances in the World Cup solidified his place as a key bowler in the team.

Mohammed Siraj, the exciting right-armer, showcased his prowess with a total of 44 wickets in 2023, delivering a standout performance in the Asia Cup final against Sri Lanka with career-best figures of 6/21.

Kuldeep Yadav, the left-arm spinner, emerged as the leading wicket-taker in 2023 with an imposing total of 49 ODI scalps. His remarkable figures of 5/25 against Pakistan in the Asia Cup exemplified his match-winning capabilities.

Lastly, Mohammed Shami’s incredible haul of four five-wicket hauls in 2023, including a historic spell of 7/57 in the World Cup semi-final against New Zealand, rightfully earned him a well-deserved spot in the ODI Team of the Year.

Together, these stellar performers form a formidable lineup that reflects the dominance of Indian cricket on the global stage in 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *