Bengaluru and Delhi Emerge as Top Contenders for WPL Season Two Host Cities


BCCI Chooses Bengaluru and Delhi for 2024 WPL Season

Venue Selection:
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has finalized Bengaluru and Delhi as the host cities for the upcoming 2024 Women’s Premier League (WPL) season.

Tournament Schedule:
The second season is scheduled to take place from February 22 to March 17, with Bengaluru hosting the initial phase and Delhi handling the second leg, including the knockout matches.

Reasoning Behind Dual Venues:
This decision was made to split the five-team, 22-match tournament across two locations, ensuring fresh pitches for the 2024 IPL starting on March 22.

Logistical Considerations:
Initially considering a single-state setup, the BCCI ultimately opted for dual venues due to logistical challenges. However, with only one major venue in each city, matches will be played over ten consecutive days at both the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru and the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

The Women’s Premier League was inaugurated in 2023, exclusively played in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai. Despite earlier intentions to keep the tournament within one state, the BCCI decided on two venues for the upcoming season.

Defending Champions:
The Mumbai Indians are the reigning champions, securing victory against the Delhi Capitals in the final of the inaugural WPL season last year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *