Barishal Secures Playoff Spot with Victory over Comilla


Tamim Iqbal scored 66 runs off 48 balls with six boundaries and three sixes, helping the team successfully chase the target of 141 runs. Comilla Victorians, batting first, posted 140-8 in 20 overs, thanks to Jaker Ali’s late surge.

Jaker Ali, the wicket-keeper, played a crucial role, scoring a quick 38 runs off 16 balls, including two fours and four sixes. He remained unbeaten, while other batters struggled to keep up the momentum.

In an attempt to experiment with Mirpur’s challenging pitch, Comilla tried Sunil Narine as the opening batsman alongside skipper Litton Das. However, this strategy didn’t work well, as Narine fell early in the third over after scoring 16 runs. Litton Das also couldn’t capitalize, getting out for 12 runs shortly after the first powerplay, falling to Taijul Islam’s bowling.

Taijul Islam was the standout performer with the ball, taking two crucial wickets, including that of Andre Russell (14). Comilla lost wickets at regular intervals, reaching a hundred after losing seven wickets. Towhid Hridoy and Moeen Ali played brief innings of 25 and 23 runs respectively in the middle.

Taijul led the bowling attack, taking the most wickets, while Mohammad Saifuddin and Obed McCoy also made significant contributions, each picking up a pair of wickets for Barishal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *