Barishal defeated the defending champions in the BPL Final


Barishal defeated the defending champions and the most successful BPL in history Comilla Victorians. They won by 6 wickets.

Fortune Barishal’s batsmen Kyle Mayers and Tamim Iqbal showcased outstanding performances to guide their team to a comfortable six-wicket victory over defending champions Comilla Victorians in the final of the Bangladesh Premier League in Mirpur on Friday.

Barishal, having faced defeat in the 2022 final against the same opponent, put aside their previous disappointments and delivered a comprehensive display with both bat and ball to secure their maiden BPL title. Their victory also ended Comilla’s perfect record in finals, as they had previously won the title four times.

Chasing a modest target of 155 runs, Barishal captain Tamim swiftly got into action, effortlessly reaching the target with three sixes and as many fours in his 26-ball 39-run knock. With this, Tamim’s tally in the tournament reached 492 runs, the highest among all players. He formed a solid 76-run partnership with Mehedi Hasan Miraz (29 off 26 balls) before being dismissed by off-spinner Moeen Ali in the eighth over. Miraz fell soon after while attempting to take on Moeen.

Mayers then took charge of the innings, displaying elegant shots to firmly place the game within Barishal’s grasp. His 30-ball 46 included five fours and two sixes, as he built a crucial 59-run partnership with Mushfiqur Rahim.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *