Babar Azam Becomes Fastest Player to Reach 10,000 Runs in T20 Cricket


Babar Azam, the star batsman of Pakistan, achieved a significant milestone in T20 cricket during his match for Peshawar Zalmi against Karachi Kings in the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL). Surpassing legendary players such as Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli, Babar Azam became the 13th player to amass 10,000 runs in the shortest format of the game. Notably, he accomplished this feat in just 271 innings, outpacing Chris Gayle’s previous record of reaching the landmark in 285 innings.

Gayle, who was the first to breach the 10,000-run mark in T20s back in 2017, now cedes the top spot to Babar Azam.

Babar’s remarkable achievement also places him ahead of renowned T20 cricketers like David Warner, Aaron Finch, and Jos Buttler. His ascent to the pinnacle of this milestone was swift, as he needed a mere six runs to etch his name into the record books. This historic moment unfolded during the sixth match of the PSL, where Babar Azam not only captained his team but also led from the front with his exceptional batting prowess. It’s worth noting that Babar narrowly missed reaching this milestone in the previous game, falling short on 68 runs against Quetta Gladiators.

The significance of Babar’s achievement is underscored by the fact that David Miller was the last player to cross the 10,000-run mark in T20 cricket, accomplishing this feat during the recent SA20 tournament’s final match for Paarl Royals, which concluded earlier this month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *