Australia Unveils Full-Strength Lineup for New Zealand T20 Showdowns


Australia have revealed a formidable squad for the upcoming trio of Twenty20 clashes in New Zealand, signaling their heightened focus on World Cup preparations.

Key players including Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Travis Head and Steve Smith are set to make a return after being rested for the imminent series against the West Indies, igniting anticipation for the upcoming contests.

George Bailey, chief selector, expressed the significance of the upcoming matches, stating,

The next six games will provide us the opportunity to start shaping what we think our World Cup squad will look like and potential roles within that.

Moreover, Bailey highlighted the importance of closely monitoring Australian players’ performances in the Indian Premier League (IPL) leading up to the World Cup, underscoring the meticulous approach to player assessment.

Scheduled in Wellington and Auckland from February 21-25, these fixtures mark Australia’s final engagements in the T20 format before the World Cup, slated to be co-hosted by the United States and the West Indies in June.

Australia’s T20 squad:
Mitchell Marsh (capt), Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *